Vikings Compete At All-Ohio Championship

Vikings Compete At All-Ohio Championship

CEDARVILLE, Ohio - The Cleveland State cross country team continued the 2017 season Friday afternoon, competing at the All-Ohio Championship.


"This was a tough course for us today, they didn't run their best, but they know that and they know that they can do better, which is a great thing," head coach Joe Jaketic said. "We know what we can work on in the coming weeks, and we will definitely be focusing on those things during practice to keep up our continued improvement before the Horizon League championship."

Cleveland State's top-seven runners competed in the 'Championship 6K', while the rest of the roster ran in the 'Open 6K'. 

In the championship race, Karen Barrientos and Anna Brandt were once again the top-two finishers for the Vikings, with Barrientos placing 28th overall in a time of 22:22 and Brandt finishing 29th in 22:25.

Jessica Finley (22:44), Samantha Butterbaugh (23:25) and Olivia Hammons (23:46) rounded out the top-five finishers for Cleveland State, while Kylie Scott was the sixth Viking to cross the finish line in a personal-best 6K time of 23:57. Deanna Swinerton was the final Viking to compete in the championship race, crossing the finish line in 24:01.

Among Division I runners only, Barrientos and Brandt placed 17th and 18th, respectively, while Finley placed 25th.

Samantha Meyer was Cleveland State's top finisher in the open race, placing 44th overall with a time of 25:04. Abbey Rojeck (25:11) and Bridget Smik (27:00) both recorded personal-bests on the 6K course, while Anna Beasley (25:57), Emily Marshall (26:31) and Calah Bishop (27:02) also competed for the Vikings.

Cleveland State will continue the 2017 campaign next weekend, when they make the trip south to Florida for the Disney Cross Country Classic on Saturday, October 7.

All-Ohio Championship Race Results
28. Karen Barrientos, 22:22
29. Anna Brandt, 22:25
38. Jessica Finley, 22:44
97. Samantha Butterbaugh, 23:25
122. Olivia Hammons, 23:46
137. Kylie Scott, 23:57
140. Deanna Swinerton, 24:01

All-Ohio Open Results
44. Samantha Meyer, 25:04
51. Abbey Rojeck, 25:11
70. Anna Beasley, 25:57
93. Emily Marshall, 26:31
110. Bridget Smik, 27:00
114. Calah Bishop, 27:02