Orange, Power & Bush Pick Up Postseason Awards

Mathilde Orange won at No. 1 singles against Valparaiso
Mathilde Orange won at No. 1 singles against Valparaiso

Contact: Renee Adam

Follow the Vikings on TWITTER 
CSU Athletics on YouTube
Become a Fan on Facebook

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The Cleveland State women's tennis team was well represented in the Horizon League Postseason Awards, as Mathilde Orange, Alex Bush and Alex Power earned spots on the All-League Second Team. This is the second time that the Vikings have had three players named to the second team, also doing so following the 2010 season.

Freshman Mathilde Orange has been playing the majority of the season at No. 1 singles for CSU, owning an 8-14 record this spring. Orange, who joined the Vikings in January, posted a 3-4 record during league play this season.

Alex Bush picked up second team honors for the second time on her career (2011), after posting a 10-11 record this spring, including a 4-2 mark in league play. Bush has spent time at No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3 singles this season and is closing in on the top-10 all-time singles wins list at CSU with 43 career victories.

Alex Power has also spent time at the top three spots in the lineup for the Vikings this year, posting an 8-9 record on the spring, including a 3-3 mark in league play. Power currently ranks ninth on the all-time wins list at CSU, with 52 career victories.

The Vikings will continue play at the Horizon League Tournament tomorrow (Saturday, April 27), as they will take on Youngstown State in a 12:00 p.m. semifinal contest. The time for tomorrow's semifinal contest was adjusted due to possible inclement weather in the area. 


2013 Women's Tennis Awards

Player of the Year: Paula de Man, Youngstown State
Newcomer of the Year: Paula de Man, Youngstown State
Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award: Amy Nini, Wright State
Coach of the Year: Sean McInerney, Milwaukee

Women's All-League Teams

First Team
Paula de Man, Youngstown State
Maddy Soule, Milwaukee
Mariana Palacios, UIC
Margarita Sadovnikova, Youngstown State
Haley Craig, UIC
Marta Burak, Youngstown State

Second Team
Mathilde Orange, Cleveland State
Nino Sujashvili, Detroit
Dana Shannon, Milwaukee
Alex Bush, Cleveland State
Alex Power, Cleveland State
Kayla Tuscany, Wright State