Jones Leads Vikings on Final Day of Championship

Jones Leads Vikings on Final Day of Championship

Feb. 23, 2008

Day Four Results | 2008 Championship Schedule and Results

Contact: Gene Natale, Jr.

AKRON, Ohio - Lesley Jones continued to lead the way for Cleveland State on the final day of the Horizon League Championships at Akron's Ocalek Natatorium. The senior swam a season-best 53.02 in the 100 freestyle and was the team's top individual finisher for the day with a ninth place in the event.

Green Bay (832 points) was meet champion for the fourth straight year, with Wright State (771 points) and UW-Milwaukee (732 points) rounding out the top three. Cleveland State was seventh overall (187 points).

"Our women have been outstanding this week," head coach Wally Morton said, "They have represented themselves and the school well. They have put in hard work, and every one of them had at least one top time this week."

Deanna Raedel also scored points for the Vikings with a 12th place finish in the 200 breaststroke (2:30.20, a season-best). Possibly the largest improvement by time was achieved by Frances Carrion, whose 1,650 free time (16th in 18:04.85) was 30 seconds better than her previous season best.

"We are very proud of our women swimmers and our diver," Morton said.

Rounding out the point scorers for the Vikings were Erin Green in the 1,650 free (15th in a season-best 18:03.89), Sandra Bunker in the 200 backstroke (16th in a season-best 2:14.90), and Alex Bagi in the 200 fly (16th in a season-best 2:18.35).

Bagi was another senior making the most of her final meet as a Viking, as she improved by six seconds from her seed time in the 200 fly (2:24.79).

Final Team Scores
1. Green Bay - 832
2. Wright State - 771
3. UW-Milwaukee - 732
4. UIC - 393
5. Youngstown State - 295
6. Valparaiso - 260
7. Cleveland State - 187
8. Butler - 143

Post-Meet Awards
  • Swimmer of the Meet: Jessica Weidert, Wright State
  • Diver of the Meet: Lauren McGraw, Green Bay
  • Athlete of the Year: Jessica Weidert, Wright State
  • Newcomer of the Year: Krystyna Wieczerzak, Wright State
  • Swimming Coach of the Year: Jim Merner, Green Bay
  • Diving Coach of the Year: Tom Stover, Green Bay