Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Cleveland State University Vikings

Gutlove, Krosky Named to All-Horizon League Team

Gutlove, Krosky Named to All-Horizon League Team

INDIANAPOLIS -- Cleveland State's Elena Gutlove and Grace Krosky were each named to the 2019 Women's Soccer All-Horizon League team as selected by the league head coaches and announced by the conference office on Monday.

Gutlove was selected the All-Horizon League Second Team, while Krosky was named to the Horizon League All-Freshman team.

Gutlove had a dynamic first season at Cleveland State after transferring to the program from Butler. She paced the team with nine points on the year and finished the season with three goals and three assists.

Gutlove carried the Vikings offense in the early season and scored two of Cleveland State's three goals to begin the season. She scored a golden goal in the Vikings 2-1 victory against Akron and also scored goals against Ohio and Milwaukee.

Krosky led the Vikings with four goals on the season and tied for second on the team with eight points. All four of her goals came in Horizon League play, including scoring two goals in the Vikings 3-0 win at Northern Kentucky.

Krosky was selected as the Horizon League Co-Offensive Player of the Week on Oct. 14 after her two-goal match at Northern Kentucky.

Shawna Zaken of Northern Kentucky was selected as the Horizon League Player of the Year and the Offensive Player of the Year, while McKaela Schmelzer of Milwaukee was chosen as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Lena Kurz of UIC was named the Goalkeeper of the Year and Maya Lacognato of IUPUI was chosen as the Freshman of the Year. Troy Fabiano of Milwaukee and Tom Anagnost of UIC shared the Coach of the Year honors.

2019 Horizon League Women's Soccer Award Winners
Player of the Year: Shawna Zaken, Northern Kentucky
Offensive Player of the Year: Shawna Zaken, Northern Kentucky
Defensive Player of the Year: McKaela Schmelzer, Milwaukee
Goalkeeper of the Year: Lena Kurz, UIC
Freshman of the Year: Maya Lacognato, IUPUI
Coach of the Year: Troy Fabiano, Milwaukee and Tom Anagnost, UIC


All-Horizon League First Team

Valentine Pursey, IUPUI

Taylor Hattori, Milwaukee

McKaela Schmelzer, Milwaukee

Haley Johnson, Milwaukee

Gaby Schwartz, Milwaukee

Rachel Phillpotts, Milwaukee

Shawna Zaken, Northern Kentucky

Tamae Douglas, UIC

Jordyne Helinski, Wright State

Destiny Johnson, Wright State

GK: Lena Kurz, UIC


All-Horizon League Second Team

Elena Gutlove, Cleveland State

Alyssa Barnes, Green Bay

Maya Lacognato, IUPUI

Mackenzie Schill, Milwaukee

Rafferty Kugler, Milwaukee

Kendra Zak, Oakland

Alexa Sabbagh, Oakland

Emily Valentine, UIC

Emma Main, UIC

Marcella Sizer, Youngstown State

GK: Sophia Lipka, IUPUI


Horizon League All-Freshman Team

Grace Krosky, Cleveland State

Maya Lacognato, IUPUI

Autumn Week, IUPUI

Maggy Henschler, Milwaukee

Megan Sullivan, Northern Kentucky

Jessica Shears, Oakland

Jackie Santibanez, UIC

Grace Haines, UIC

Michelle Rings, Wright State

Marcella Sizer, Youngstown State

GK:  AP Woodall, IUPUI