Volleyball and Basketball Teams to be Honored at Statehouse on Tuesday

Volleyball and Basketball Teams to be Honored at Statehouse on Tuesday

April 28, 2008

Contact: Greg Murphy

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Ohio House and Senate members, as well as Governor Ted Strickland, will honor the Cleveland State volleyball and women's basketball teams with resolutions on Tuesday, April 29, at the Statehouse in Columbus.

Both teams captured Horizon League Championships and competed in the NCAA Championship for the first time in program history.

"We consider it an honor that our volleyball and basketball programs have been singled out to be recognized at the Ohio Statehouse," CSU Director of Athletics Lee Reed said. "We are proud of our good standing within the Buckeye State and anytime these governing bodies take the time to honor our student-athletes, it is a very special occasion."

Both teams are scheduled to meet with Governor Strickland on Tuesday morning and have team photos taken with him.

The Ohio House of Representatives Chamber will the receive resolutions from the House, presented by Speaker John Husted and State Representative Eugene Miller.

Following lunch with members of the General Assembly who are CSU graduates, both teams will be honored by the Ohio Senate. The chamber will receive resolutions from the Senate, presented by Senate President Bill Harris and Senator Shirley Smith.

Eighth-year head volleyball coach Chuck Voss guided the Vikings to a 23-9 record this season, including a 13-3 mark in the Horizon League. The Vikings defeated Wright State in the championship match, 3-1, to earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship where CSU fell to Albany in the first round.

The basketball squad, led by fifth-year head coach Kate Peterson Abiad, concluded the season with a 19-14 record and captured the league championship with double-digit wins over Butler, Green Bay and Wright State in the tournament. CSU received the 15th seed in the Spokane Region and fell at Stanford, the eventual national runner-up, in the first round.