McNamara Wins 200 IM, Breaks School Record

McNamara Wins 200 IM, Breaks School Record

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Senior Molly McNamara broke the school record in winning the 200 IM to lead the Cleveland State University men's and women's swimming & diving teams Thursday inside IU Natatorium.

Through the second day of four of the Championships, the CSU men sit in second place with 189 points. The CSU women are in fourth place with 176 points.

McNamara led from wire-to-wire to become the first Viking woman to ever win a Horizon League title in the 200 IM. She won the event by over 1.5 seconds and reset the school record, which she had held, by more than .70 seconds. It was her fourth individual league title over the past three seasons.

McNamara's performance was part of a larger CSU success in that event as the Vikings placed four among the top 10.

Freshman Agnes Bahr finished sixth in her first individual event at the league meet in 2:04.99 while sophomore Alana Cartwright was eighth (2:07.55).

Senior Claudia Zido won the consolation final in a career-best 2:04.66 to finish ninth. Freshman Riley Drummond also scored in the event despite being seeded 26th entering the meet. She won a swim-off to reach the consolation final before placing 16th in 2:10.18.

Sophomore Lexie Kostelnik finished seventh in the opening event of the night—the 500 freestyle. She touched the wall in 4:58.81 while junior Gabriella Marinelli was 14th in 5:04.70.

Seeded 15th entering the meet, sophomore Erica Henrichsen improved on that dramatically to place eighth in 1-meter diving. She had 189.45 points in the finals after qualifying with 219.15 points in the prelims.

CSU's women's 200 freestyle relay finished fourth in 1:34.35, improving on their seed by two spots. The quartet featured Marinelli, Zido, junior Madi Jaszcz and Cartwright.

The CSU men's top event of the day was the 50 freestyle as five Vikings scored.

Junior Dominic Poletta led the way in fourth in 20.57 seconds. Classmate Jack MacDonald put up a career-best in the prelims before bettering that mark in the finals as he won the consolation final in 20.75 seconds. Junior DJ Arslanian was 10th (20.82), sophomore Ryan Sedlak was 12th (20.90) and senior Sean Mulvin was 14th (21.02).

Sedlak had put up a career-best in prelims while Mulvin improved on his seed by 10 places.

Sophomore Dominik Niedzialek nearly brought home a title in the 500 freestyle as he finished .04 seconds behind first. He took second in 4:27.47. Junior Erwan Mahoudo was 10th in 4:31.04 while senior Jason van der Touw was 12th in 4:32.07.

Senior Jared Stergar began his final championships with a strong effort in the 200 IM. He took third in 1:49.51 despite being seeded 18th entering the meet. Junior Tyler Stevenson was 12th (1:51.64) while senior Addison Kaufmann was 15th (1:53.12).

The third day of the meet will feature five individual swimming events per gender, men's 1-meter diving and the 400 medley relays for both teams.