Sargema, Sieradzki and Thiss Earn All-Horizon League Honors

Sargema, Sieradzki and Thiss Earn All-Horizon League Honors

CLEVELAND, Ohio – Cleveland State junior Kaila Sargema and senior Allie Sieradzki were named to the All-Horizon League second team, while freshman Ashley Thiss was voted to the All-Freshman team.

The League office announced the teams on Monday afternoon.

Sargema, who is making her second straight appearance on the all-league second team, is ranked eighth in the league with 14 points, tied for sixth with six goals and tied for fourth with three game-winning goals. Sargema's 12 career goals are tied for fourth all-time in school history, while her 26 career points are sixth most in CSU history.

Sieradzki is making her first-ever appearance on the All-Horizon League squad after totaling nine points on four goals and one assist. Over her four-year career, Sieradzki has steadied the CSU midfield, while totaling nine goals with three assists.

Thiss was named to the all-freshman team after starting 12 of the 14 matches she played, totaling five points on two goals and one assist.

The Vikings will return to action on Monday night (Nov. 2) when CSU opens play in the Horizon League Championship as the No. 6 seed with a 7:00 pm match at No. 3 seeded Northern Kentucky.

Player of the Year: Macy Hamblin, Northern Kentucky
Offensive Player of the Year: Macy Hamblin, Northern Kentucky
Defensive Player of the Year: Cassidy Blanchard, Milwaukee
Goalkeeper of the Year: Kelly Fritz, UIC
Freshman of the Year: Claudia Eustaquio, Detroit
Coach of the Year: Troy Fabiano, Milwaukee                                                

1st Team All-League
Macy Hamblin, So., F, Northern Kentucky                      
Rita Craven, Sr., M, Valparaiso                          
Joan Sieja, Sr., F/M, Oakland                             
Jessica Frey, So., F, Northern Kentucky                          
Bryce Hueber, So, M, Wright State                  
Alice Palmer, Jr., F, Oakland                              
April Cronin, Jr., F, Valparaiso                           
Maria Stephans, Jr., M, Milwaukee                  
Cassidy Blanchard, So., D, Milwaukee                             
Nikki Romero, So., M, Wright State
Kelly Fritz, So., GK, UIC

2nd Team All-League
Kaila Sargema, Jr., F, Cleveland State                               
Alyssa Lotito, Sr., D, Detroit                               
Anna Smalley, So., M, Milwaukee                    
Kelsey Holbert, Sr., M, Milwaukee                   
Allie Sieradzki, Sr., M, Cleveland State                            
Ashley Gogolin, Sr., M, Wright State                
Olivia Everin, So., F, UIC                     
Kyler Lum, So., M, Youngstown State                              
Madison Pollard, So., D, UIC                              
Callie O'Donnell, Jr., M, Milwaukee
Paige Lincicum, Jr., GK, Milwaukee

All-Freshman Team
Claudia Eustaquio, GK, Detroit                       
Aaliyah Patten, F, Wright State
Taylor Spaulding, D, Northern Kentucky
Kelli Swenson, D, Milwaukee                           
Ashley Thiss, M, Cleveland State
Naomi Rushe, Fr., F, UIC
Maria Zandi, Fr., D/M, Oakland
Emily Zweng, Fr., GK, Oakland
Madison Hughes, M, Youngstown State
Kelsey Jahn, M, Valparaiso
Molly Kane, M, Detroit