Women’s Basketball Announces 2018-19 Schedule

Women’s Basketball Announces 2018-19 Schedule

CLEVELAND, Ohio – First year head coach Chris Kielsmeier and the Cleveland State women's basketball team announced its schedule for the upcoming 2018-19 campaign Thursday, featuring 29 total games including 14 in the Wolstein Center.

Cleveland State's schedule for the 2018-19 season includes seven teams that reached the postseason a year ago, five 20-win teams and three first time opponents.

2018-19 CLEVELAND STATE WOMEN'S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE

Prior to the official start of the 2018-19 season, the Vikings will host their lone exhibition of the year on Thursday, November 1, hosting Ursuline College.

Cleveland State's season-opener and home-opener will come on Tuesday, November 6, when the Vikings welcome Salem University to the Wolstein Center. This will be a brief homestand for the Vikings though, as their next two games will take them on the road to Eastern Michigan on Friday, November 9 and to Ball State on Sunday, November 11.

The Vikings will return home during the middle of the month for a two-game homestand then, hosting Lake Erie College (Thursday, November 15) and Illinois State (Monday, November 19) before hitting the road once again for the San Diego Thanksgiving Tournament.

Cleveland State will head west to the state of California for the first time since the 2007-08 season, facing San Diego (Friday, November 23) and Tulane (Saturday, November 24) as part of the two-day tournament.

To close out non-league play, the Vikings will split time at home and on the road, traveling to Ohio (Saturday, December 1) and Marshall (Saturday, December 8), while hosting Toledo (Wednesday, December 5) and Bradley (Wednesday, December 19).

The Vikings will kickoff their 18-game Horizon League slate at the end of December, traveling to Oakland (Friday, December 28) and Detroit Mercy (Sunday, December 30) for the first two #HLWBB games of the year.

Cleveland State will then return home to host IUPUI (Thursday, January 3) and UIC (Saturday, January 5), before hitting the road once again for games at Green Bay (Thursday, January 10) and Milwaukee (Saturday, January 12).

The Vikings will then play four of their next five games in the friendly confines of the Wolstein Center, hosting Northern Kentucky (Friday, January 18), Wright State (Sunday, January 20), Detroit Mercy (Thursday, January 31), and Oakland (Saturday, February 2) during this stretch, while the lone road contest will come at Youngstown State on Saturday, January 26.

Trips to UIC (Friday, February 8) and IUPUI (Sunday, February 10) are up next for the Vikings, before a two-game homestand against Milwaukee (Friday, February 15) and Green Bay (Sunday, February 17).

To close out the month of February, the Vikings will travel to Wright State (Friday, February 22) and Northern Kentucky (Sunday, February 24), before hosting Youngstown State on Saturday, March 2 to close out #HLWBB regular season play. 

The 2019 Little Caesars Horizon League Women's Basketball Championship will take place March 5 through 12, with eight teams earning a spot in the tournament field. Quarterfinal contests will take place on campus sites March 5-6, with the semifinals and championship taking place in Little Caesars Arena in Detroit, Mich. on Monday, March 11 and Tuesday, March 12.

During the 2018-19 season Cleveland State will once again be offering FREE ADMISSION to all women's basketball stand alone games. For more information, call the Cleveland State Ticket Office at 216-687-5440.