Shaw Claims EWL Title; Vikings Finish Fourth

Shaw Claims EWL Title; Vikings Finish Fourth

LAWRENCE TOWNSHIP, NJ - Bolstered by heavyweight champion Riley Shaw, Cleveland State set their best finish in the EWL tournament since 2004 with 94 team points and finished fourth at the EWL Championship on Saturday.

The 94 points is the most scored by CSU since 1987 (95 points), due in part to the high number of points scored by the team at this tournament. CSU had the only champion besides Rider's five champs and Edinboro's four.

Riley Shaw was crowned champion for the first time in his career after defeating Jake Kettler of George Mason in the championship match with a 3-1 sudden victory. This marked Shaw's third victory over Kettler this season. Riley is the 27th EWL champion overall for CSU and first since 2013 when Willeford won his title. Shaw qualified for the NCAA National Tournament later this month.

Shaw advanced to the finals with a 3-2 win in the quarterfinals and a 2-0 triumph in the semifinals.

Ben Willeford had an outstanding day as he finished in second place at 125, winning his true second match to automatically qualify to NCAA's along with Shaw.

Nick Montgomery lost a close match with qualification on the line. Latrell Davis, Gabe Stark, and Xavier Dye finished in fourth in their respective weight class. Alfredo Gray, Mike Carlone, and Nick Corba all finished in fifth place in their division. 

The Vikings finished the season strong with a fourth place finish in one of the more prestigious wrestling leagues in Division I. Riley Shaw and Ben Willeford will travel to St. Louis for the NCAA Championship on March 19-21. 

1. Edinboro, 138.5
2. Rider, 122.5
3. Lock Haven, 101.5
4. Cleveland State, 94

5. George Mason, 78.5
6. Clarion, 48
7. Bloomsburg, 19