Half-Dozen Vikings Named To 2001-02 Winter All-Academic Team

Half-Dozen Vikings Named To 2001-02 Winter All-Academic Team

April 29, 2002

CLEVELAND - The Cleveland State men's swimming and diving squad placed six student-athletes on the 2001-02 Horizon League Winter All-Academic Team. Gustavo Barrios (Panama City, Panama/Kiski School), Andrew Hancock (Cambridge, Australia/St. Mary's Senior), Chris Jones (Brookpark, Ohio/Berea), Niall McGrane (Dublin, Ireland/St. Mary's Rathmines), Aidan McLaughlin (Dublin, Ireland/Terenure College) and Brett Thomas (Berea, Ohio/Berea) were all honored by the conference. Barrios and Thomas are two of just nine three-time selections to the winter team.

Overall 77 student-athletes, including 25 returnees from the 2000-01 Winter Academic All-Horizon League Team, were selected: men's basketball (5), women's basketball (5), men's indoor track and field (14), women's indoor track and field (17), men's swimming and diving (18) and women's swimming and diving (18).

UW-Milwaukee led the team, placing 16 members. UIC also landed in double figures with 10 followed by Butler (9), Wright State (9), Detroit (8), UW-Green Bay (7), Cleveland State (6), Loyola (6) and Youngstown State (6).

The Horizon League Sports Information Directors and Faculty Athletic Representatives select the Winter Academic All-Horizon League Teams. Nominees must meet the following criteria: 1) a cumulative grade point average (G.P.A.) of 3.25 or better on a 4.00 scale; 2) have completed at least three semesters at the same institution; and 3) be a starter or significant contributor in a league-sponsored sport. The team is comprised of the same number of First Team All-Horizon League student-athletes in each sport. Ties are not broken.

Cleveland State completed the 2001-02 season with an 11-3 dual meet record and finished second at the Horizon League Championships.