Vikings Selected to Compete in NCAA Regional in Bowling Green, Ky.

Vikings Selected to Compete in NCAA Regional in Bowling Green, Ky.

May 4, 2009

Contact: Greg Murphy

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Cleveland State was selected as the 13th seed in the NCAA Regional in Bowling Green, Ky., and will compete in the 54-hole regional at the par-72 Club at Old Stone from May 14-16.

It will be the second consecutive season that the Vikings will compete at the NCAA Regional after capturing their second straight Horizon League Championship last week.

"We are excited to once again have the opportunity to play in the NCAA Regional," second year head coach Steve Weir said. "We had a great experience last year and I think that will only help us this year.

"I am pleased with where we were selected to play because it will give family and friends the opportunity to come down and follow us. We just have to go out, stay strong mentally, play our games and manage the course."

The Vikings placed 23rd of 27 teams at the NCAA Central Regional at The Scarlett Course at Ohio State last season.

Weir, who played on the 2006 CSU team that also qualified for the regionals, has led CSU to its second straight Horizon League title and was named the Horizon League Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Senior Jake Scott, who was named one of the "50 Players to Watch" in the preseason, earned medalist honors at the league championship for the second straight season and was honored as the Horizon League Player of the Year.

Also participating in the Kentucky regional are: top-seeded Washington, Georgia Tech, North Carolina State, UCLA, Mississippi, East Tennessee State, Duke, Louisville, Ohio State, Vanderbilt, Middle Tennessee, Austin Peay State and Bucknell.

Teams will play 18 holes each day.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted from May 14-16. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams will advance to the finals from each regional.

The championships will be conducted May 26-30 at the Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio. The University of Toledo is the host institution for this year's championships.

The Club at Olde Stone - Bowling Green, Kentucky
Hosted by Western Kentucky University

1. Washington (Pacific-10 Conference)
2. Georgia Tech (Atlantic Coast Conference)
3. North Carolina State
5. Mississippi
6. East Tennessee State
7. Duke
8. Louisville (Big East Conference)
9. Ohio State
10. Vanderbilt
11. Middle Tennessee (Sun Belt Conference)
12. Austin Peay State (Ohio Valley Conference)
13. Cleveland State (Horizon League)
14. Bucknell (The Patriot League)

Individuals: 1. Mike Van Sickle, Marquette
2. Sebastian MacLean, Xavier
3. Trey Bowling, Eastern Kentucky
4. Tyler Duncan, Purdue
5. John Montgomery, Alabama State