CSU Wins Horizon League Men's All-Sports Trophy

CSU Wins Horizon League Men's All-Sports Trophy

CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Cleveland State Department of Athletics captured the 2013-14 Horizon League Men's All-Sports Trophy, while finishing fourth in this year's race for the James J. McCafferty Trophy that recognizes the League's all-sports champion.

This is the second straight year that CSU has won the men's all-sports trophy and marks the seventh straight year that the Vikings have finished in the top-four of the McCafferty standings. That includes first place finishes in 2008 and 2013, as well as a runner-up finish in 2012 and third place showings in 2009, 2010 and 2011.

CSU finished with 23 points on the men's side, besting Wright State and UIC who tied for second place with 18 points.

The men's golf team won the Horizon League Championship to earn seven points, while the Vikings also had runner-up finishes in basketball (regular season), swimming and diving and tennis to earn five points in each of those three sports.

Handed out every year since 1979-80, the McCafferty Trophy is named after James J. McCafferty, the former Xavier University men's basketball coach and athletics director who served as the league's commissioner.

The trophy is awarded annually by the Horizon League to a member institution compiling the greatest number of performance points, based on its finish in the League’s 19 championship sports.

2013-14 McCafferty Trophy Standings

1. Milwaukee, 43
2. Youngstown State, 39.5
3. Green Bay, 34.5
4. Cleveland State, 34
5. Oakland, 33.5
6. Wright State, 33
7. Detroit, 31
8. UIC, 28.5
9. Valparaiso, 20

Men's Sports
1. Cleveland State, 23
T-2. Wright State, 18
T-2.  UIC, 18
4. Milwaukee, 17
5. Youngstown State, 16
T-6. Detroit, 15
T-6. Green Bay, 15
8. Oakland, 13
9. Valparaiso, 7

Women's Sports
1. Milwaukee, 26
2. Youngstown State, 23.5
3. Oakland, 20.5
4. Green Bay, 19.5
5. Detroit, 16
6. Wright State, 15
7. Valparaiso, 13
8. Cleveland State, 11
9. UIC, 10.5