Cleveland State Honors Student-Athletes During Annual VESPY's Event

Cleveland State Honors Student-Athletes During Annual VESPY's Event

CLEVELAND -- Seniors Molly McNamara and MacJilton Lewis were named Ms. Viking and Mr. Viking respectively highlighting the 7th Annual Cleveland State VESPY's show on Wednesday in the Student Center Ballroom.

The Ms. and Mr. Viking award is given to the senior student-athlete that best represents what it means to be Viking, which includes a strong commitment to academics, making significant impact on their team, involvement in community service projects and maintains a positive influence both on and off the field. McNamara and Lewis are both members of the Cleveland State swimming and diving program.

McNamara, who was named the Horizon League Women's Swimming and Diving Athlete of the Year, also was named the Female Athlete of the Year and won the Best Individual Performance honor.

Nico Mostardi, who was the Horizon League Men's Tennis Player of the Year, was selected as the Male Athlete of the Year.

The Viking Strong award and the Green Heart award were presented for the first time on Wednesday. Toni Dickson of the women's soccer team earned the Viking Strong award, which is given to the student-athlete that shows energy and enthusiasm in the weight room. Cassandra Oltman was selected as the Green Heart award winner, which is presented to the student-athlete who returned from an injury or hardship to succeed on the field of play.

Cleveland State men's head tennis coach Brian Etzkin was named the Coach of the Year. Etzkin led the Vikings to their second consecutive Horizon League Championship and a berth in the NCAA Tournament.

Savanna Crockett of the women's basketball team was chosen as the Freshman of the Year after being named the Horizon League Freshman of the Year and earning a spot on the Horizon League All-Freshman squad.

Justin Conner of the lacrosse program was selected as the winner of the Bleed Green award, which is given to the student-athlete who exhibits pride not only in competition but in cheering on his teammates and fellow Vikings.

The men's tennis team earned the Best Game of the Year honor for their 4-1 victory over UIC in the Horizon League Championship match.



Freshman of the Year - Savanna Crockett, Women's Basketball

Bleed Green - Justin Conner, Lacrosse

Coach of the Year - Brian Etzkin, Men's Tennis

Best Game of the Year - Men's Tennis

Green Heart - Cassandra Oltman

Best Individual Performance - Molly McNamara, Women's Swimming & Diving

Viking Strong - Toni Dickson

Male Athlete of the Year - Nico Mostardi, Men's Tennis

Female Athlete of the Year - Molly McNamara

Mr. Viking - MacJilton Lewis, Men's Swimming & Diving

Ms. Viking - Molly McNamara, Women's Swimming & Diving